Our Mission

Our Mission is to “reduce substance abuse in Lee County by raising awareness of prevention resources through collaboration, education and inspiration.”

Our Values and Beliefs

  • Collaboration is the pathway to accomplishing our goals.
  • Individual, family, community engagement is key to prevention.
  • Prevention saves lives and money

Since its founding in 1989 by Jim Nathan, Sheriff Mike Scott and a group of local leaders, the Lee County Coalition for a Drug-Free Southwest Florida has worked to provide prevention resources to families in Lee County.

Our Board of Directors

  • Jonathan Engh (Busey Bank) – Chair
  • Deputy Chief Lisa Barnes (Cape Coral Police Department, Ret.) – Vice-Chair
  • Syndi Bultman (Lee Memorial Health System Trauma Department) Secretary/Treasurer
  • Meaghan Brady Palumbo (Park Royal Behavioral Health)
  • Heidi Brescher (Osprey Counseling)
  • Heather Cross (Empowerment Center)
  • Sgt. Dede Diogo (Lee County Sheriff’s Office)
  • Samuel Fisher (Lee County School Board)
  • Mary Fischer (Lee County School Board, ret.)
  • Lt. Allen Kolak (Cape Coral Police Department)
  • Riley Kempton (TM Strategic Consulting)
  • Samuel Laguerre (Lutheran Services)
  • Kevin Mace (The Hanley Foundation)
  • Keri Malinoski (The Hanley Foundation)
  • Russ McCaskey (WINK-TV)
  • Hugo Mir (Alufab, USA)
  • Hannah Nieves (White Sands Treatment Center)
  • Damini Parkhi (Fort Myers Progress Panel)
  • ​Katie Whalen Polewsi (Operation Medicine Cabinet Lee County) Derrek’s Mission Foundation)
  • Mary Ellen Saba (AIM Target Programs, Inc.)
  • Destiny Unsworth (Lee County Sheriff’s Office)

Honorary Life Members

  • Jim Nathan, Founder
  • Betty Harmon
  • Charlie Styles
  • Sheriff Mike Scott